Hassaan, 15

As events and time pass by year after year, one idea that remains a constant is that of the Harker community. Yet as a student, it is easy to overlook the impact that the trite phrase embodies. For Hassaan, the effect is too prominent to disregard.

When the school heard of coach Olsen’s daughter Riley, the news heavily weighed upon the conscience of student’s minds. Athletes stepped up by hosting the “Run for Riley” event while the sophomore and senior classes took initiative by making 1,000 paper cranes. “We really embraced this,” Hassaan said. “He had a really hard time in his life, and [these initiatives] really embodied the Harker spirit.” On a lesser scale, this same form of spirit is reflected in friendships too. “I like to think I’m there for my friends,” Hassaan said.

Life Moral: “No matter all the hardships in the Harker community, we are all in it together,” Hassaan said. As one of the student council members sponsoring the paper crane folding event, he was constantly approached by people with a desire to help support the cause even more than they already had. “I have learned a lot from the way the Harker community interacts,” Hassaan said. “It’s the wonder of the Harker community.”

5 responses to “Hassaan, 15

  1. Interesting that you write that first sentence considering our last editorial 😛

  2. I think my second sentence really speaks to the editorial though- haha.

  3. good point haha <33333 XD XD teeehee

  4. =)

  5. I miss mr. olson. He’s my advisor, and he is always so cool yet caring. I hope he’s back soon.

    On another note though, I do think that the Harker community is often emphasized at the expense of the individual and the individual’s familial expectations/non-school-related life as well.

Leave a comment