Kevin, 17

“Dude, David, he’s super man,” is all that Kevin could utter out when he heard the news.

Coach Deron Thorp was, “a different kind of coach.” He was the kind who would stay with you after practice and make sure you are feeling OK. He was the kind who would pull you aside if you were having a bad day just to talk about it. He was also the kind who would prefer to jog next to the bus to pump up the players for their big away game rather than sit on the bus and simply drive over to the enemy territory.

To Kevin, Coach Thorp was an inspiration. So it was no wonder that Kevin scoffed at his friend’s phone call a couple of nights after their last away game. It was a week later during Thorp’s funeral when it actually occured to Kevin that his inspiration was dead. “I don’t think I ever cried that much in my whole life,” Kevin said.

A month later Kevin looked through his old emails to find one from Coach Thorp, hailing him for his enthusiasm and effort during practice. It left Kevin saying,

“I miss him so much.”

Life Moral: Coach Thorp was able to relate to Kevin on a personal level and inspired him at every opportunity he could. Imagine how many people you can inspire too, or learn from people and gain insight from them.

4 responses to “Kevin, 17

  1. Which Kevin is this?

  2. The senior, football Kevin. I’m not sure I should reveal his last name on the INTERWEB. But yeah the big (no offense?) football Kevin. Yeah?

  3. That was really touching.

  4. Akshay Aggarwal

    This is extremely well written. I remember the night that my brother received the call. We were in the car going home with my brother’s friend. I don’t remember who it was. I believe it was Taylor. My brother got the call from Arman, I believe, saying that Coach Thorpe was no longer with us. I was an eighth grader. Though I never met him, I heard many positive things about him after practices and games. When my brother hung up the phone, he told his friend, also a football player, what happened. Both of them were crying in the car, and both were speaking positively to his personality.

Leave a comment